Category: Uncategorized

Former Red Smith Award winner Ed Storin dies at 92

Ed Storin, the longtime sports editor of The Miami Herald who died April 25 at age 92, was both old-school and forward-thinking. He spent 40 years at the same paper (1951-1991), working his way up from copy boy (a position he was alerted to… Continue Reading “Former Red Smith Award winner Ed Storin dies at 92”

Christine Brennan wins 2020 award

March 3, 2020 When USA Today Sports columnist Christine Brennan was informed on Monday that she was the recipient of the 2020 APSE Red Smith Award, the names of past winners immediately started rolling off her tongue. “It is such an honor,” she said.… Continue Reading “Christine Brennan wins 2020 award”

Nominations open for 2020 award

Nominations are now open for the 2020 Red Smith Award. The award is presented to a person who has made “major contributions to sports journalism.”   The nomination process (and voting) is open to Red Smith Award winners, APSE past presidents, APSE national officers, 10-year… Continue Reading “Nominations open for 2020 award”

Legendary Dan Jenkins, 2013 winner, dies at 89

By Mac EngelFort Worth Star-TelegramMarch 8, 2019 Fort Worth, TCU, sports and the literary world lost one our most beloved, wittiest giants on Thursday night with the passing of sports writing icon Dan Jenkins. He was 89 years old. TCU athletic director Jeremiah Donati confirmed… Continue Reading “Legendary Dan Jenkins, 2013 winner, dies at 89”

Terry Taylor wins 2018 award

Terry Taylor, the first woman sports editor for the Associated Press and its longest-serving sports editor when she retired, was the recipient of the 2018 Red Smith Award. She was presented the award at the 2018 APSE convention in Nashville.

Transcript of Bill Millsaps’ 2011 acceptance speech

BOSTON — A transcript of Bill Millsaps’ acceptance speech after he was presented with the 2011 Red Smith Award:  Willie Nelson sang that his heroes have always been cowboys. MY heroes have always been sports writers, such as Blackie Sherrod, Jim Murray and Red… Continue Reading “Transcript of Bill Millsaps’ 2011 acceptance speech”

Sandy Rosenbush wins 2019 award

March 8, 2019 Sandy Rosenbush, the first woman to hold office as APSE president, and co-founder of the Sports Journalism Institute, has been named the Red Smith Award winner for 2019. The award, given annually by the Associated Press Sports Editors to a person… Continue Reading “Sandy Rosenbush wins 2019 award”

APSE president Michael Anastasi’s introduction

APSE President Michael A. Anastasi’s introductory remarks at the annual Red Smith Award induction luncheon in Chicago on June 22, 2012 were based on this text:  It is intimidating to speak before, let alone introduce, someone who is not only known as one of… Continue Reading “APSE president Michael Anastasi’s introduction”